Skip to content

Who wore it best?

May 12, 2011

Very brief conversation with my friend Melanie, after I met her newborn son, Ryan, for the first time and presented him with a onesie pledging allegiance to burritos โ€” his mom’s main source of nutrition during her pregnancy.

Melanie: Umm, this has cat hair all over it.

Me: I have no idea what you’re talking about.

If I had to hazard a guess, I'd say the onesie just fell on top of Isabel. A few times, probably. On different days. Until it reached the point that she learned to recognize its guacamole-green hue and run in the opposite direction. But there's no way of knowing for sure.

26 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2011 4:19 AM

    I don’t know which is cuter, the baby, the onesie or the cat. No wait, it’s you!

  2. May 12, 2011 7:19 AM

    I gave my baby niece a t-shirt that says “Parental Guidance Recommended”. I also love burritos.

  3. May 12, 2011 7:44 AM

    um, doesn’t Melanie know that cat hair = love in the gift-giving equation?

  4. May 12, 2011 10:17 AM

    “babies” DOES rhyme with “rabies”. damn shame i stopped writing songs when i gave up weed….

  5. May 12, 2011 11:10 AM

    you’re doing that baby a favor, exposing him at such a young age to cat hair and dander and such so that he will not grow up to be all pissy allergic. good on you!

  6. May 12, 2011 11:13 AM

    Love it…and I agree with Marian…expose him now so he’ll have less allergies!

  7. May 12, 2011 11:38 AM

    In my humble opinion it seems to fit Isabel better, lol. Those babies are adorable ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. May 12, 2011 12:33 PM

    I love burritos, too. Why hasn’t anyone given ME a onesie?!

  9. May 12, 2011 12:35 PM

    The cat hair is like the Gift With Purchase for the onesie.

    I would totally have another baby to get a gift like that.

  10. Melissa permalink
    May 12, 2011 12:55 PM

    LOL… Isabel wore it best! No contest! ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. sibee permalink
    May 12, 2011 3:55 PM

    The baby has no teeth, therefore has never actually had a burrito. The cat has already been shown to enjoy human food (see: popsicle photo) and therefore is more likely to actual love burritos. Cute, furry, human-food-eating cat > lying babies.

  12. May 12, 2011 6:06 PM

    the real question is: why didn’t you make a kitty burrito by wrapping isabel in the onesie and sprinkling a little kibble on top?

  13. hawaiianryan47 permalink
    May 12, 2011 7:01 PM

    i suppose the cat hair thing would secondary if the onsie were to read “i love iams”

    • hawaiianryan47 permalink
      May 13, 2011 5:39 AM

      would *be secondary and *onesie. jesus christ almighty.

  14. May 13, 2011 12:30 AM

    If Ryan comes to visit wearing the onesie, will Isabel run away from him?

  15. May 13, 2011 12:10 PM

    Maybe she thinks it’s a blanket? At least you don’t have photo proof of Isabel IN it? Tails get tricky.

  16. May 13, 2011 2:10 PM

    Oh please. All the best baby boutiques charge a fortune for the cat hair embellishment.

    You were just being GENEROUS.

    She’s lucky you still love her despite her ingratitude.

    Disgratitude?

    Ungratitude?

    I’m sure at least one of those is a word.

  17. May 14, 2011 7:14 AM

    Cat hair is one of those ubiquitous facts of life. It is good that the baby is getting used to the idea of it already. Long ago I gave up on my wardrobe being anything other than a vector for feline fur.

    I have often wondered just how my calico cat could selectively shed white hair on dark clothes and black hair on white ones.

  18. Carolspy permalink
    May 15, 2011 3:27 AM

    If you made me an Alone…With Cats onesie, I’d totally wear it. After getting it covered with fur by putting it on Chad.

  19. May 15, 2011 6:32 PM

    See what you’ve done? I bet Isabel doesn’t like burritos now- or babies, maybe. . . jos x

  20. May 16, 2011 10:32 PM

    I heart this post for so many reasons.

  21. May 18, 2011 9:57 AM

    hah! you just made me crack up so bad.

  22. May 19, 2011 12:32 PM

    True story: When I was in labor and the bitch-ass doctors told me “no more food, only these delicious and satisfying ice chips,” I BEGGED my husband to sneak a bean burrito into the hospital for me to eat. I told him to heat it up, wrap it in a napkin, and put it in the pocket of his shirt. He was too chicken to comply. And that’s why we got divorced. Just kidding. (maybe). Seriously, we didn’t get divorced, but I DO hate him for it.

  23. May 31, 2011 11:38 AM

    hahahah this is awesome. my dad recently had a baby and he’s constantly sending me picture texts of my little bro doing random activities (swinging, wearing a hat…) and even though it’s cute, it got annoying super quick. since i live alone with my insane cat, roux (who i probably blog about too often), i decided that the equivalent would be to send him pictures of my cat doing the same things…if i get a picture message of the baby eating toast, he gets a picture message of roux eating meow mix, etc. so i support this post hahah

  24. June 1, 2011 6:45 PM

    well maybe he woudl have been cold – you were doing him a favour giving him a furry onsie – geez – great blog you made me laugh out loud on several of your posts ๐Ÿ™‚ I can’t wait to see what you write next

  25. June 23, 2011 9:57 PM

    I might be in love with you.

Leave a Reply

